MSE Faculty Receive College Awards

MSE Faculty Receive College Awards

Materials Science and Engineering

Five MSE faculty members who have been selected as recipients of CoE or MSE faculty honors & awards.


Manos Kioupakis is the recipient of the CoE 1938E award for junior faculty.  The 1938E Award, endowed by the CoE Class of 1938, is presented in "recognition of an outstanding teacher in both elementary and advanced courses. The recipient is an understanding counselor of students who seek guidance in their choice of career, a contributor to the educational growth of his/her College, and a teacher whose scholarly integrity pervades his/her service to the University and the profession of Engineering teachers”.


The Consortium for Advanced Simulation of Light-Water Reactors (CASL) team is the recipient of the Ted Kennedy Family Faculty Team Excellence Award. The team includes Katsuyo Thornton (MSE), Michael Thouless (courtesy appointment in MSE) and Gary Was (courtesy appointment in MSE).

The full list of winners for College of Engineering awards posted at:

Alan Taub is the recipient of the 2017 MSE Department Outstanding Accomplishment Faculty Award.

Past winners are listed at: