Emmanuelle Marquis




M.S. Materials Science and Engineering, Ecole des Mines de Paris, 1998
Ph.D. Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University, 2002


Research focuses on understanding and quantifying the mechanisms controlling microstructural evolution in alloy systems (including light alloys), interfacial properties, oxidation behavior and irradiation effects in materials. To complement her experimental work, she forges close ties to groups in computational and theoretical materials science. Her work is pushing the limits of atomic scale microscopy techniques, i.e. atom-probe tomography and high resolution transmission and scanning transmission electron microscopy and Emmanuelle is continuously working on improving these imaging techniques and developing new approaches to data analysis. She has also succeeded in expanding the realm of atom-probe tomography to include the analysis of microstructural features in bulk oxides.


Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow, University of Oxford, Department of Materials, Oct. 2008 – Dec. 2010 
3D Atom Probe Research Manager, University of Oxford, Department of Materials, Mar. 2007 - Sept. 2008 
Staff Member, Sandia National Laboratories, Materials Physics Department, Nov. 2004 - Feb. 2007 
Post-Doctoral Appointee, Sandia National Laboratories, Materials Physics Department, Nov. 2002 - Nov. 2004


Co-Chair, Gordon Conference on Physical Metallurgy (2023 postponed to 2025)
J.H. Block Lecture, International Field Emission Society (2021)
Fellow, International Field Emission Society (2020)
MSE Department Faculty Award for Outstanding Accomplishment (2016)
NSF CAREER award (2014)
Jon R. and Beverly S. Holt Award for Excellence in Teaching (2013)
K.F.J. Heinrich award, Microanalysis Society (2012)
Merit award, Department of Materials, University of Oxford (2009)
Millard and Lee Alexander Postdoctoral Fellowship – Christ Church College, Oxford (2007-2009)
Erwin W. Müller Outstanding Young Scientist Award, International Field Emission Symposium, Lyon, France (2002)
Microbeam Analysis Society Distinguished Scholar Award, Microscopy and Microanalysis Meeting, Quebec City, Canada (2002)
Member of the Phase transformation Committee, TMS-MPMD and ASM International, (2010-present)
Member of Chemistry and Physics of Materials Committee, TMS SM/EMP Divisions, (2009-present)
Steering Committee member and treasurer for the International Field Emission Society, (2008-2014)
President-Elect for the Microscopy Society of America Atom-Probe Focused Interest Group, (2009-2010)