2008 Imaging Microstructure Contest Winners

2008 Imaging Microstructure Contest Winners

Scientific Merit winner (left), submitted by Wen Tu, and Artistic Merit winner (right) submitted by Jeff Hendrix.

The department is pleased to announce below the winners of the 2008 Imaging Microstructure Contest. The Grand Prize winners are Wen Tu (Scientific Merit) and Jeff Hendricks (Artistic Merit) Thirty-three individuals entered up to a maximum of three images for consideration. The panel of judges: Justin Scanlon, MSE; John Mansfield, MSE and Richard Hackel, Director of Ophthalmic Photography, UMHHC Ophthalmology, are sincerely thanked for their efforts. All winning entries will can be seen here and an exhibit of images will be mounted to help kick off the start of the fall term.

Category Winners

Category I
Optical and Scanning Electron Microscopy

  1. Gerri Bernard
  2. Charles Shaw
  3. Steve Coryell

Category II
TEM, X-ray Imaging and Surface Probe Techniques

  1. Kangwon Lee
  2. Jessica Terbush
  3. Lee Sears

Category III
Simulated Microstructures as Products of Computational Materials Science

  1. Chloe Funkhouser
  2. Not Awarded
  3. Not Awarded

Category IV
Digitally Enhanced or Colorized Images of Microstructures

  1. Alex Perez-Bergquist
  2. Kevin Grossklaus
  3. Jessica Bickel