Aeriel Murphy wins Rackham's Lipschutz Award

Aeriel Murphy wins Rackham's Lipschutz Award

Aeriel Murphy, winner of this year's Susan Lipschutz Award.

MSE Ph.D. candidate Aeriel Murphy has been selected to receive the Susan Lipschutz Award in the amount of $8,000.  The award is for spring and summer support and research.

The Susan Lipschutz Award recognizes Rackham students who have demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievement, a sense of social responsibility and service, and a lively interest in promoting the success of women in the academic community. 

"I am so grateful for all of the young women I’ve had the opportunity to teach and learn from especially all of the students I’ve worked with in Liberia," said Murphy. "They have had a positive impact on my life and my perspectives on what needs to be done to advance women in science and engineering."

Dr. Susan S.  Lipschutz was a distinguished member of the University of Michigan community, loved and respected by her friends and colleagues. A magna cum laude graduate of Smith College, she earned a Ph.D. in philosophy from Michigan in 1969. As senior associate dean of the Rackham Graduate School and associate provost in the Office of Academic Affairs, Dr. Lipschutz worked diligently to improve graduate education by creating a program that built a sense of community among faculty and graduate students. After her untimely death in 1997, her friends and family created the Lipschutz Fund to honor her memory and to support graduate students in perpetuity.