Four faculty earn 2023 TMS Awards

Professors John Allison, Liz Holm, Emmanuelle Marquis and Ashwin Shahani were officially recognized last week at the TMS Annual Meeting in San Diego.
Four faculty earn 2023 TMS Awards

MSE is proud to announce that four faculty members received awards from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) at the Annual Meeting last week in San Diego: John Allison, AIME Honorary Member Award; Liz Holm, SMD Distinguished Service Award; Emmanuelle Marquis, Brimacombe Medalist; and Ashwin Shahani, Frontiers of Materials Award. 

 Professor John Allison: AIME Honorary Member Award

Considered to be a pinnacle award, the AIME Honorary Member Award recognizes outstanding service or distinguished scientific or engineering achievement in the fields embracing the activities of AIME and its Member Societies. 

Citation: For his distinguished service to TMS/AIME and outstanding research achievements in Integrated Computational Materials Engineering of structural light-weight metallic alloys.

Quote: I am deeply honored to become an AIME honorary member. To join the ranks of previous awardees, is humbling indeed.”

Professor Liz Holm: SMD Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes an individual whose dedication and commitment to the TMS Structural Materials Division (SMD) has made a demonstrable difference to the objectives and capabilities of the division and the society.

Citation: "For seminal contributions to our understanding of the processing of structural materials via computer simulation and materials learning."

Quote: SMD has been my home division since I became a TMS member. It is a true honor to receive this recognition from my professional family!

Professor Emmanuelle MarquisBrimacombe Medalist

This mid-career award recognizes individuals with sustained excellence and achievement in business, technology, education, public policy, or science related to materials science and engineering and with a record of continuing service to the profession.

Citation: "For excellence in characterization of high temperature and nuclear materials. Professor Marquis advanced our understanding of microstructure evolution while furthering the development of analytic methods.”

Quote: “I am humbled and honored to have been selected to join a long list of truly amazing colleagues as a Brimacombe Medalist. I am grateful to friends, colleagues, students who have mentored and supported me throughout my career so far and from whom I continue to learn. I look forward to continuing my professional journey within the field while promoting, supporting, and advocating for others within TMS and beyond.”

Associate Professor Ashwin Shahani: Frontiers of Materials Award

The TMS Frontiers of Materials Award is given competitively to a top-performing early career professional capable of organizing a Frontiers of Materials Event comprising a hot or emergent technical topic at the TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition. As a part of the award, Shahani organized a Symposium and presented a special keynote address: “Capturing the Growth of Quasicrystals Near- and Far-from-Equilibrium” at the Annual Meeting on March 23.

Quote:I am honored and humbled to receive the Frontiers of Materials Award. I have had the pleasure of attending the TMS Annual Meeting for the past decade and presenting my research almost every year within that timeframe. I look forward to giving back to the materials community by organizing a symposium on complex intermetallics, bridging emergent research in crystallography, mathematics, physics, and geology - fields that were traditionally underrepresented in past meetings.

Congratulations John, Liz, Emmanuelle and Ashwin!!