Taub named Robert H. Lurie Professor of Engineering

The official professorship installation ceremony will take place on June 7.
Taub named Robert H. Lurie Professor of Engineering

Professor Alan Taub

MSE is pleased to announce that Professor Alan Taub has been named Robert H. Lurie Professor of Engineering. 

“It is quite an honor to be named the Robert H. Lurie Professor of Engineering,” Taub stated.  “I hope that my future activities in guiding the research of our graduate students, teaching undergraduate classes and supporting various university initiatives measures up to the outstanding contributions made by the previously named faculty.”

Alan Taub joined the MSE faculty in the Fall of 2012. In this role, Taub is conducting research in advanced materials and processing and is the Director of the newly launched MMRI (Michigan Materials Research Institute).  He continues to support the manufacturing innovation institute LIFT (Lightweight Innovations for Tomorrow) and is also supporting the university Global CO2 Initiative.

Prior to coming to U-M, Taub was vice president, Global Research & Development, leading General Motors’ advanced technical work activity, seven science laboratories around the world including the Israel Advanced Technology Center, and seven global science offices. Before joining GM, Taub spent 15 years in research and development at General Electric, where he earned 25 patents. He has authored more than 80 papers. He also worked at Ford Motor Company for eight years.  

Taub received his bachelor’s degree in materials engineering from Brown University and master’s and Ph.D. degrees in applied physics from Harvard University.  Taub was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering in 2006 and elected to the council for NAE in 2016.  He became a TMS Fellow in 2018, an SME Fellow in 2019 and has served as the Chair for the Visiting Committee on Advanced Technology (VCAT) for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and on advisory boards for the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Northwestern University, and the University of California Davis and Berkeley. 

The official professorship installation ceremony will take place on Tuesday, June 7, 2:30-4:30 p.m., in Chesebrough Auditorium, 220 Chrysler Center.

Congratulations, Alan!